Elder abuse cases trigger intense prosecutions across the State. Many county District Attorney Offices’, including Fulton and Cobb, have a specialized unit dedicating to bringing forth elder abuse charges. It is for this reason, it is imperative to have an attorney on your team soon as the investigation begins, and especially before speaking to law enforcement.
Elder abuse is broad and includes several different definitions. Georgia law has criminalized the acts of knowingly and willingly exploiting an elder person or disable adult. Exploiting means improperly using the elder or disabled person’s resources through undue influence, coercion, harassment, deception, or other similar means for one’s own profit or advantage.
Georgia law has also criminalized the acts of inflicting pin, physical injury, sexual abuse, mental anguish, or unreasonable confinement on an elder person or disabled adult. It is also illegal to willfully withhold essential services to this category of protected citizens. An elder person is a person 65 years or older. A disabled adult is a person over 18 years old who is mentally or physically incapacitated or has Alzheimer’s or dementia.
What is the punishment for Elder Abuse in Georgia?
If convicted, it is treated as a felony punishable from 1 to 20 years imprisonment, and/or a fine of up to $50,000. If you are charged with threatening or intimidating an elder who is the subject of a report made, or any other person cooperating with law enforcement on the matter, it will be charged as a high and aggravated misdemeanor with the maximum sentence of 12 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000.
If you are charged with Elder Abuse anywhere in Georgia, please
do the following:
1. Call an attorney who has the specialized expertise to handle an Elder Abuse
2. Do not talk to the police without an attorney
3. Do not talk to any of the witnesses or victim.
4. Let your attorney handle any interviews.
5. Do not in anyway obstruct or impede the police
6. Make a list of any witnesses who may help your
case and turn that list over to your attorney.
If you are charged with Elder Abuse anywhere in the State of Georgia, it is
imperative that you get an attorney immediately. We will be glad to sit down
with you anytime for a free consultation. Call our office 24/7 at 404-581-0999.