Look Ma, No Hands- Georgia’s Hands-Free Law

Beginning July 1, 2018, Georgia implemented its Hands-Free law which aims to reduce distracted driving incidents by restricting cellphone use while driving. Drivers are prohibited from holding a cellphone or any stand-alone electronic device (iPad, etc.) with any part of their body. However, drivers are permitted to use hands-free technology like Bluetooth and earpieces for phone calls and navigation. The law does allow for exceptions like if you’re calling an emergency service.

If you’re caught using your phone or texting while driving, the first offense is a $50 fine and one point on your record. If you attend a court-approved distracted deriving program, the judge can decide to waive the fine. Additionally, many municipalities will give you a warning for a first offense. A second offense would result in a fine of $100 and two points on your record. For your third offense and every offense thereafter, you can expect a fine of $150 and three points on your record. Keep in mind that if you accumulate 15 points within 24 months on your record, your license will be suspended. These penalties can be fairly straight forward, but violating the Hands-Free law can be deemed “distracted driving.” If you are violating the Hands-Free law and cause serious injury or death of another person, you will likely be facing felony charges with enhanced fines.

If you get pulled over for using your phone while driving, do not hesitate! Give us a call NOW.