Driving without a License or with a Suspended License in Georgia

Georgia, like most states, makes it a crime to drive a vehicle without a license or with a suspended license. This blog article will discuss the laws surrounding this type of offense and the possible punishment if convicted.

Driving Without a License

As you might expect, every person driving a motor vehicle on a road or highway must have, and display upon request, a valid driver’s license. There are two laws dealing with not being in possession of a valid license.

No License on Person: O.C.G.A. § 40-5-29 requires drivers in Georgia to carry their license in their immediate possession while driving. A driver must also produce a copy of their license at the request of a law enforcement officer. Failure to do so may result in a misdemeanor conviction where the maximum penalty is 12 months in jail and up to $1,000 fine. If the driver can later produce a valid license that was valid at the time of arrest or citation, the maximum fine is $10.

Driving Without a Valid License: O.C.G.A. § 40-5-20 prohibits and punishes unlicensed driving. This offense is more serious than the above No License on Person, but is still charged as a misdemeanor.

Driving With a Suspended License

O.C.G.A. § 40-5-121 prohibits a person from operating a motor vehicle on a suspended, disqualified, or revoked license. If convicted, the person can expect to face a fine, jail time, probation, and a license suspension. The license suspension would be added to the time left remaining on the current suspension. The below table describes penalties for repeat offenses:

  Jail Fine License Suspension
1st Offense 2 days – 12 months $500-$1,000 6 months
2nd Offense 10 days – 12 months $1,000 – $2,000 6 months
3rd Offense 10 days – 12 months $1,000 – $2,000 6 months
4th Offense (Felony) 1 – 5 years prison $2,500 – $5,000 6 months – lifetime


Contact Us

If you or someone you know has been arrested, contact the law firm of W. Scott Smith at 404.581.0999 today for a free case evaluation. You’ll find a local Atlanta attorney ready to aggressively fight on your behalf. You can also find out more detailed information about Atlanta laws here.