Insurance Need to Knows
driver in Georgia is required to have the minimum liability coverage of $25,000
per person and $50,000 per accident before they can drive their vehicle on the
road. An insurance policy covers a specific vehicle or set of vehicles and is
acquired by paying a premium to a Georgia auto insurer. Insurance in Georgia is
proven through a proof of insurance document issued on behalf of the insurer to
a policyholder in order to prove the minimum liability coverage.
False Proof of Insurance
It is a felony in Georgia to manufacture, sell or distribute a false proof of insurance document in Georgia and is punishable by a fine of up to $10,000 and/or two to ten years in custody. Just possessing a false proof of insurance document in Georgia is just a misdemeanor with a fine of up to $1,000 and/or a year in custody.
What Does the Law Say?
The statute reads that “A proof of insurance document shall be deemed counterfeit or false if the proof of insurance document has been altered, modified, or originally issued in any manner which contains false information concerning the insurer, the owner, the motor vehicle, or the insurance thereon.”
If you’ve been arrested for a proof of insurance violation or any other fraud charge our office of experienced Georgia criminal defense attorneys can help. Call us today at 404-581-0999 for a free consultation.