If you have been arrested for a DUI, you probably have a lot of questions for your Atlanta DUI attorney already. Here at the Peachstate Lawyer, we aim to protect the best interests of our clients in every way possible. That begins with client education, and making available helpful informational resources about topics of interest, such as a 1st offense DUI in Georgia and the implications of this charge.
Another common question for individuals facing a 1st offense DUI in Georgia is:
What Will Happen to My Georgia Driver’s License If I Am Convicted Of a DUI? If this is a first offense, which means it’s your first arrest and/or conviction for DUI (or drunk driving) in Atlanta within 5 years, the following will apply:
Upon a plea of guilty for a 1st offense DUI in Georgia, your driver’s license shall be suspended for 12 months; however, there are provisions for a temporary work permit and reinstatement of your license. You will be required to surrender your license to the court. Here’s a few additional points to remember in terms of your license reinstatement and suspension time for a Georgia DUI first offense: If your license was taken from you, and you have not received a new license, you may be required to submit a lost license affidavit to the court.
Your “suspension/revocation time” does not begin until you surrender your license to DDS. If you do not submit your license, your “suspension/revocation time” begins the date DDS processes the conviction. Of course, there’s a range of legal consequences and ramifications for a Georgia DUI first offense, depending on the specific circumstances of your case and your arrest. Having an experienced Atlanta DUI attorney will be a crucial advantage for you as you navigate this process, ensuring you’re able to fully protect yourself and seek all available courses of action to minimize fines, license suspensions and potential jail time.
For a 1st offense DUI in Georgia, consequences may include:
24 hours to 1 year in jail
$300 to $1,000 fine + license reinstatement fee of $210
License suspension of up to 1 year (see above for more details on license reinstatement)
40 hrs community service
If you have additional questions, contact the office of Atlanta DUI attorney W. Scott Smith. He will advise you of your rights and help you to make the best decisions about your case.
It is essential to have an experienced Atlanta DUI attorney on your side to watch out for your best interests. If you have been arrested for a first offense DUI in Georgia, call us today at 404.581.0999 for a free case evaluation.
Our Atlanta law firm....Free Case Evaluation
Sign up if you would like to receive occasional treats from us.
100 Peachtree Street N.W., Suite 2060, Atlanta, Georgia 30303
The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice; instead, all information, content, and materials available on this site are for general informational purposes only. Information on this website may not constitute the most up-to-date legal or other information. Please do not act or refrain from acting based on anything you read on this site. All liability with respect to actions taken or not taken based on the contents of this site are hereby expressly disclaimed. The content on this posting is provided "as is;" no representations are made that the content is error-free.